Islamic Calendar 2015

Accurate Date conversion "Islamic calendar" and Gregorian calendar, you can find out the most important occasions and events

Gregorian to Hijri    Hijri to Gregorian

- -

Date Conversion

Islamic Calendar, Muslim calendar is a lunar calendar consisting of twelve months in a year of three hundred and fifty four days. Islamic calendar is been make used to date in numerous Muslim countries concurrently along with the Gregorian calendar, and the Islamic calendar is used by Muslims all over the world to determine the proper days on which to observe the annual fasting, to visit Hajj as well as to celebrate other Islamic holidays and festivals.
The very first year of Islamic calendar was the Islamic year starting in AD 622 during which the journey of prophet Muhammad from Mecca to Medina, which is refer to Hijra, every numbered year is designated either “H” for Hijra or “AH” for the Latin anno Hegirae, hence, Muslims typically call their calendar the Hijri Calendar.
The Islamic calendar is also made up of twelve months and four of the Hijri months are sacred, the months in the Islamic calendar is as follows and their meaning as well; the Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and it means forbidden, this is so because battle is forbidden in this Hijri date. The second is Safar meaning void, supposedly called thus due to pagan Arab homes were at this time of the year empty while their occupants gathered food. The third months is called Rabi I (Rabi al-Awwal) meaning the first spring, follow by Rabi II (Rabi ath-Thani or Rabi al-Akhir) meaning the second or last spring
Jumada I is the fifth month of Islamic calendar meaning the first month of parched land, this is often considered the pre-islamic “summer”, follow by Jumada II meaning the second month of parched land at the sixth. The seventh month of the Islamic calendar is Rajab which mean respect and honor, this is another month that fighting was traditionally forbidden. The eight month of Islamic calendar is Sha’ban meaning scattered this marked the period of the year when the Arab tribes scattered to look for water. The most venerated month of the Hijri calendar is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar which is known as Ramadan which means burning. During this period, Muslims are mandatory to fast from dawn till sunset and also to give charity to the less privilege.
The tenth month of the Islamic calendar is Shawwal meaning raised, camels are normally would be in calf at this period of the year. Dhu al-Qa’da meaning the one of the truce is the eleventh month of the Islamic calendar; it is the month that war was banned. The last month which is the twelveth month of the Islamic calendar is known as Dhu al-Hijja, which means the one of pilgrimage, the month in which the annual Muslim pilgrimage to Mecca (the Hajj) takes place.
The Islamic calendar is now been used mainly for religious purposes, and as well as for official dating of the public events as well as documents in Muslim nations due to it nature as a purely lunar calendar. It could not be used for agricultural purposes as well as historically because Islamic countries as well as communities had made use of other calendars for this purpose.

© 2014
Islamic Calendar